Bon Jovi Friday

Have you ever heard of “Bon Jovi Friday“? Well, J and I had one last week. (I actually had quite a bit of work to do, so it wasn’t a true Bon Jovi Friday for me). Anyway, we were taking Friday off work to tour one of my visiting Dutch cousins around Seattle — more details on that visit later.

Img_12021

Thursday was the first day of me picking up our CSA box from Magic Bean Farm. The pick-up location is just a short ride from my office on the UW campus. A great way to spend my lunch break. Our box came with the following: 

  • Cucumbers
  • Green Onions
  • Collard Greens
  • Zucchini and Squash
  • Potatoes – Blue and Fingerlings
  • Colorful mix of red, gold, and bull’s blood Beets
  • Mix of green and Dragon’s Tongue beans
  • Some Daikon
  • Fresh Cilantro!
  • Fresh sprigs of Shiso herb – serrated edged leaves with a wonderful complex flavor that has to be tried to be understood.  Works great with lemony drinks and deserts.

I’m pretty pumped to try cooking with all of this fresh produce. I always get overwhelmed a farmer’s markets — wondering what I should buy, how much, how will I use it, is it worth it, etc. This way I just pick up the box and I’m forced to figure it out.

After work we headed down to my Dad’s house in Sumner via car to meet up with them and the Dutch cousin for some wine tasting. The pups were pretty excited to be going on an adventure and posed nicely for some cute pics in the car. Traffic was lame though, and I found myself wishing that biking that far south was a reasonable Thursday evening adventure. 

Leave a Reply

